Tuesday, 15 July 2014

Richmond Park was the scene for SEWTTS #10 and predictably the weather proved consistent with so many other series events - DAMP! Whilst riders at the first Richmond Park TT run two weeks earlier basked in glorious warm sunshine, conditions proved very different for the second when a light drizzle proved an impediment to both vision and speed. A relatively dry Summer and a blanket of diesel laid generously around the racing line of most corners, made for a challenging morning! Despite that, conditions were surprisingly fast - a lack of wind and the low rolling resistance due to the damp roads meant that straight line speeds were unusually high. Sadly, the dank conditions meant that many women decided to make it a duvet day so numbers were a bit light. But that doesn't take away from some superb rides by the women who did show up.

The worthy category winners who braved the elements and slippy conditions were:

Cat 1: Rebecca Slack 25:49
Cat 2: Jasmijn Muller 26:!6
Cat 3: Clare Campbell-Smith 28:09 (Clare was so surprised to win her category she left before the prize giving!)
Cat 4: Clare Gillot 29:12
Novice: Sarah Phelps 30:04

Congratulations to Jasmijn Muller and Sarah Phelps who have now both established unassailable leads in their categories.

Road Bike podium -
Michelle Sellars, Clare Gillot, Bella Leach

TT podium -
Jasmijn Muller, Rebecca Slack, Maryka Sennema

The full results and series points can be found here:-

Saturday, 5 July 2014

The Redhill Sporting 14 was the venue for SEWTTS #9 - which was held on a rural, undulating course to the south east of Dorking which proved very popular with riders! The roads were nice and quiet other than in Newdigate where the entire population of Surrey descended on the village green for a Fete causing a few lost seconds for some riders.

Jasmijn Muller continued her recent run of form to take the win in 36:33. She might have been a fair bit quicker if she hadn't been forced to stop half a mile from the finish to put her chain back on!

The category honours went to the following riders:-

Cat 1: Louise Moriarty 37:57
Cat 2: Jasmijn Muller 36:33
Cat 3: Alice Lethbridge 37:09
Cat 4: Elin Williamson 41:59
Novice: Sarah Phelps 39:54

Well ridden ladies!

The full results from the event can be found in this workbook:-

Jasmijn Muller receiving her prize from Michelle Arthurs (SEWTTS rider and Redhill CC rider

Smiling, happy, cake eating SEWTTS women!

Mel Wasley - 6 secs off the podium in her first TT.